Boards & Authorities


Home
Boards & Authorities
Conferences
Documents & Newsletters

This page contains links to a representative for each of the recognized state geographic names authorities in the United States, including two U.S. Territories. In addition, there are links to the U.S. Board on Geographic Names, the Geographical Names Board of Canada, and to the Toponymy Interest Group of the American Names Society.


Select from the list

 State Geographic Names Authorities

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California
Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia
Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa
Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland
Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri
Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey
New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio
Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina
South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont
Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming
Geographic Names Authorities, United States Territories

Guam

Puerto Rico


Alabama

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Lewis S. Dean
Geological Survey of Alabama/State Oil & Gas Board
P.O. Box 869999, University Station
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35486-6999
Telephone: (205) 349-2852
Fax: (205) 349-2861
E-mail:
library@gsa.state.al.us

Return to Top

Alaska

Geographic Names Authority

Ms. Judith Bittner
Alaska Department of Natural Resources/Division of Parks
Office of History & Archaeology

Attn: Ms. Joan (Jo) M. Antonson
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1310
Anchorage, AK 99501-3565
Telephone: (907) 269-8714
Fax: (907 269-8908
E-mail: oha@alaska.net
E-mail for Jo: jo.antonson@alaska.gov

Return to Top

Arizona

Arizona State Board on Geographic
and Historic Names

Mr. Eugene Trobia, Chair
Arizona State State Board on Geographic and Historic Names
Arizona State Land Department
1616 W. Adams
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2606
Telephone: (602) 542-4060
Fax: (602) 542-2600
E-mail: gtrobia@land.az.gov

Arizona State State Board on Geographic and Historic Names
Attn: Julie Hoff

Arizona State Capitol
1700 W. Washington, Suite 200

Phoenix, AZ 85007
Telephone: (602) 542-4343
In Arizona: (800) 255-5841
Fax: (602) 542-4400
E-mail: aznames@lists.lib.az.us

Return to Top

Arkansas

Geographic Names Authority

Ms. Bekki White, Director & State Geologist
Arkansas Geological Commission
Vardelle Parham Geology Center
3815 West Roosevelt Road
Little Rock, AR 72204
Telephone: (501) 296-1880
Fax: (501) 663-7360
E-mail: bekki.white@arkansas.gov

Return to Top

California

California Advisory Committee
on Geographic Names


The purpose of the California Advisory Committee on Geographic Names is to provide recommendations to the U.S. Board on Geographic Names

Mr. Paul Veisze, Chairman
Department of Parks and Recreation
1416 9th Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 949-3327
Fax:
Email: paul.veisze@parks.ca.gov

Click on this text for a complete list of the California Advisory Committee members, advisors, and contacts.

Return to Top

 

Colorado

Colorado Geographical Names Board

Mr. George Orlowski, Acting State Archivist
Colorado State Archives
1313 Sherman Street, Room 1B20
Denver, CO 80203
Telephone: (303) 866-2329
Fax: (303) 866-2257
E-mail: george.orlowski@state.co.us

Return to Top

Connecticut

Geographic Names Authority


 

Ms. Margaret A. Thomas, State Geologist
Connecticut Geological Survey
Office of Information Management
Dept. of Environmental Protection
79 Elm Street
Hartford, CT 06106
Telephone: (860) 424-3583
Fax: (860) 424-4058  
E-mail: Margaret.Thomas@ct.gov

Return to Top

Delaware

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. William S. Schenck
Delaware Geological Survey
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716-7501
Telephone: (302) 831-8262
Fax: (302) 831-3579
E-mail:
rockman@udel.edu

Return to Top

Florida

Florida State Board on Geographic Names


The Florida State Board on Geographic Names' main purpose is to assist the U.S. Board on Geographic Names and offer advice to citizens and governmental entities on name related issues.

Mr. James R. Anderson
Florida State Board on Geographic Names
FREAC, UCC 2200
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL 32306-2641
Telephone: (850) 644-2883
Fax: (850) 644-7360
E-mail: JAnderson@admin.fsu.edu

Return to Top

Georgia

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Steven W. Engerrand, Archives Assistant Director
Archival Section, Georgia Archives
Telephone: (678) 364-3756
Fax: (678) 364-3860
E-mail: sengerrand@sos.ga.gov

Return to Top

Guam

Geographic Names Authority

 

Office of the Honorable Madeleine Z. Bordallo
424 Cannon HOB
Washington, D.C. 20515-5301
Telephone: (202) 225-1188
Fax: (202 226-0341
E-mail:

Return to Top

Hawaii

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Jesse K. Souki
Director, Office of Planning
Department of Business, Economic Development, and Tourism
Attn: Joan Delos Santos
P.O. Box 2359
Honolulu, HI 96804-2359
Telephone: (808) 587-2895
Fax: (808) 587-2899
E-mail: jdelos_santos@dbedt.hawaii.gov

Return to Top

Idaho

Idaho Geographic Names Advisory Council

Ms. Suzi Pengilly
Idaho State Historical Society
210 Main St.
Boise, ID 83702
Telephone: (208) 334-3847 Ext. 107
Fax:
E-mail:  suzi.pengilly@ishs.idaho.gov

Return to Top

Illinois

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Robert A. Sinclair
Sinclair and Associates
312 South Fair Street
Champaign, IL 61821
Telephone: (217) 356-9285
Fax:
E-mail: rsinclai@uiuc.edu

Dr. Edward Callary
English Department
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
Telephone: (815) 753-6627
Fax: (815) 753-0606
E-mail: ecallary@niu.edu

 Dr. David L. Gross
Senior Geologist & Ass't. Chief
Illinois State Geological Survey
Natural Resources Building
615 E. Peabody Dr.
Champaign, IL 61820
Telephone: (217) 333-0150
Fax: (217) 244-7004
E-mail: gross@isgs.uiuc.edu

Return to Top

Indiana

Board on Geographic Names

Bob Wilkinson, LS
Indiana Department of Natural Resources
Division of Water
Section Head, Surveying & Mapping Section
402 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Telephone:  (317) 232-1130
Fax:  (317)233-4579
E-mail: bwilkinson@dnr.IN.gov

Jim Sparks
Indiana Geographic Information Officer
Indiana Office of Technology
100 North Senate Ave.
N551 Government Central North
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Telephone:  (317) 232-5889
Cell phone:  (317)517-1879
E-mail: gio@iot.in.gov

Indiana Board on Geographic Names: history, 1961-1971

Return to Top

Iowa

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. James D. Giglierano
Iowa Geological Survey Bureau
Department of Natural Resources
109 Trowbridge Hall
Iowa City, IA 52242-1319
Telephone: (319) 335-1594
Fax: (319) 335-2754
E-mail: james.giglierano@dnr.iowa.gov

Return to Top

Kansas

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Ivan L. Weichert, GIS Director
Kansas Information Technology Office
900 SW Jackson ST, Rm 751-S
Topeka, KS 66612-1275
Telephone: (785) 296-0257
Fax: (785) 296-1168
E-mail: ivan.weichert@da.ks.gov

Return to Top

Kentucky

Kentucky Committee
on Geographic Names

Send e-mails to
Demetrio.Zourarakis@ky.gov

 

Return to Top

Louisiana

Geographic Names Authority

James E. Mitchell, Ph. D., IT GIS Manager
Louisiana Dept. of Transportation & Development Computer Center
1201 Capitol Access Rd
Baton Rouge, LA 70802-4438
Telephone: (225) 379-1881
FAX: (225) 379-1850
Email:
mailto:Jim.Mitchell@la.gov

Dr. Randall A. Detro, Director
Placename Survey of Louisiana
202 Windsor East
Thibodaux, LA 70301
Telephone: (985) 446-7629
Fax:
E-mail: radetro@aol.com

Maine

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Bob Marvinney
Natural Resources Information and Mapping Center
Maine Geological Survey
22 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0022
Telephone: (207) 287-2804
Fax: (207) 287-2353
E-mail: Robert.G.Marvinney@maine.gov

Mr. Michael Smith
State GIS Manager
Maine Office of GIS
State House Station 174
264 Civic Center Drive
Augusta, ME 04333-0174
Telephone: (207) 215-5530
E-mail: Michael.Smith@maine.gov

Return to Top

Maryland

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Ed Schmidbauer
Maryland State Highway Administration
707 North Calvert St., MS 607-C
Baltimore, MD 21202
Telephone: (410) 545-8739
Fax: (410) 209-5033
E-mail:
eschmidbauer@sha.state.md.us

Return to Top

Massachusetts

Geographic Names Authority

Dr. Stephen Mabee, State Geologist
Massachusetts Geological Survey
Department of Geosciences
269 Morrill Science Center
University of Massachusetts
611 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01003-9297
E-mail: sbmabee@geo.umass.edu

Return to Top

Michigan

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Daniel Metzger, Geographic Specialist
Michigan Information Center
George Romney Building
111 South Capitol, 10th Floor
P.O. Box 30026
Lansing, MI 48909
Telephone: (517) 373-7910
Fax: (517) 373-2939
E-mail:
metzgerd@michigan.gov

Return to Top

Minnesota

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Kent Lokkesmoe
Director, Division of Waters
Telephone: (651) 259-5700

Minnesota Department of Natural Resource
Attn: Mr. Peter Boulay
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4032
Telephone: (651) 296-4214
Fax: (612) 225-2208
E-mail: pboulay@umn.edu

Return to Top

Mississippi

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Michael B. E. Bograd, RPG
Director & State Geologist
Office of Geology
P.O. Box 20307
Jackson, MS 39289-1307
Telephone: (601) 961-5528
Fax: (601) 961-5521
E-mail:
Michael_Bograd@deq.state.ms.us

Return to Top

Missouri

Geographic Names Authority

Ms. Jane Messenger
USGS, Mid-Continent Mapping Center
1400 Independence Road, MS 918
Rolla, MO 65401
Telephone: (573) 308-5803
Fax: (573) 308-3652
E-mail: jmessenger@usgs.gov

Return to Top

Montana

Geographic Names Authority

Gerry Daumiller, GIS Analyst
Montana State Libary
P.O. Box 201800
Helena, MT 59620-1800
Telephone: (406) 444-5358
Fax: (406) 444-0581

E-mail:  gdaumiller@mt.gov

For information about geographic names in Montana click on one of the following links:
http://mtplacenames.org

http://www.his.state.mt.us/pub/press/PlaceNames.asp

Return to Top

Nebraska

Geographic Names Authority

Michael J. Smith, Director/CEO
Nebraska State Historical Society
1500 R Street, P.O. Box 82554
Lincoln, NE 68501-2554
Telephone: (402) 471-4745
Fax: (402) 471-3100
E-mail: msmith@nebraska.gov

Return to Top

Nevada

Nevada State Board on Geographic Names

In March of 1985, Senate Bill 265, amended Chapter 327 of Nevada Revised Statutes and created a Board to "coordinate and approve geographic names within the State for official recommendation to the U.S. Board on Geographic Names."

Linda Newman, Chairman
Nevada State Board on Geographic Names
MLS, Geoscience and Map Librarian
DeLaMare Library / MS 262
University of Nevada, Reno
Reno, NV 89557-0262
Telephone:  (775) 682-7384
Fax:  (775) 784-6949
E-mail:  lnewman@unr.edu

Jordan Hastings, Vice Chairman
Nevada State Board on Geographic Names
Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology
University of Nevada / MS 178
Reno, NV 89557-0088
Telephone:  (775) 682-6352
Fax:  (775) 784-1709
E-mail:  hastings@unr.edu

Jack Hursh, Executive Secretary
Nevada State Board on Geographic Names
Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology
University of Nevada / MS 178
Reno, NV 89557-0088
Telephone:  (775) 682-8760
Fax:  (775) 784-1709
E-mail: jhursh@unr.edu

Return to Top

New Hampshire

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Ken Gallager
New Hampshire Office of Energy & Planning
4 Chenell Drive
Concord, NH 03301
Telephone: (603) 271-2155
Fax: (603) 271-1728
E-mail: ken.gallager@nh.gov

Return to Top

New Jersey

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. William P. Graff
Supervising Topographic Engineer
New Jersey Geological Survey
P.O. Box 427
Trenton, NJ 08625
Telephone: (609) 292-2576
Fax: (609) 633-1004
E-mail: Bill.Graff@dep.state.nj.us

Return to Top

New Mexico

New Mexico State
Geographic Names Subcommittee

Mr. Robert Julyan, Chairman
New Mexico State Geographic Names Committee
New Mexico Geographic Information Council
31 Avenida Almendro NE
Albuquerque, NM 87123-9648
Telephone: (505) 298-8420
Fax: (505) 298-8420
E-mail: rjulyan@comcast.net

Return to Top

New York

New York State Committee
on Geographic Names

Dr. Christina Rieth
New York State Museum
Division of Research and Collection
Cultural Education Center 3118
Empire State Plaza
Albany, New York 12230
Phone: (518) 473-1503
Fax: (518) 486-2149
E-mail: crieth@mail.nysed.gov

Return to Top

North Carolina

Geographic Names Authority

Dr. Tyrel Moore
Department of Geography & Earth Science
UNC Charlotte
9201 University City Blvd., McEniry Bldg.
Charlotte, NC 28223-0001
Telephone: (704) 687-5975
Fax:
E-mail: tgmoore@uncc.edu

Return to Top

North Dakota

Geographic Names Authority

Edward C. Murphy
North Dakota Geological Survey
600 East Boulevard
Bismarck, ND 58505-0840
Telephone: (701) 328-8000
Fax: (701-328-8010
E-mail: emurphy@state.nd.us

Return to Top

Ohio

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. David Blackstone, GIS Manager
Office of Technical Services
Ohio Department of Transportation
1980 West Broad Street
Columbus, OH 43223
Telephone: (614) 466-2594
Fax:
E-mail: Dave.Blackstone@dot.state.oh.us

Return to Top

Oklahoma

Oklahoma  Board on Geographic Names


 

 

 

Created by Oklahoma statutes in 1965 the purpose of the Oklahoma Board on Geographic Names is to make recommendations to the U.S. Board on Geographic Names [HB 810, sec. 310 (b), (4)].

Mr. T. Wayne Furr, Executive Secretary
Oklahoma  Board on Geographic Names
Oklahoma Geological Survey
The University of Oklahoma
2020 Industrial Blvd.
Norman, OK 73069
Telephone: (405) 325-1299 (leave message)
Fax: (405) 366-2882 Office
E-mail: twfurr@ou.edu

Return to Top

Oregon

Oregon Geographic Names Board

The purpose of the Oregon Geographic Names Board is to supervise the naming of geographic features within the state of Oregon and to make recommendations to the U.S. Board on Geographic Names.

Mr. Kerry Tymchuck, Secretary
Oregon Geographic Names Board
Oregon Historical Society
1200 S.W. Park Avenue
Portland, OR 97205-2483
Telephone: (503) 306-5239
Fax: (503) 221-2035
E-mail: kerry.tymchuk@ohs.org

Ms. Sharon Nesbit, President
Oregon Geographic Names Board
623 Buxton
Troutdale, OR 97060
Telephone:  (503) 665-0423
Fax:
E-mail:  snesbit@aol.com

Ms. Mary McArthur, Vice-President
Oregon Geographic Names Board
4336 S.W. Condor
Portland, OR 97239-4007
Telephone:  (503) 970-3336
E-mail:  mbmcarthur@comcast.net

Return to Top

Pennsylvania

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. David W. Shoff, Chief
State Archives Division
Pennsylvania State Archives
Telephone: (717) 783-5796
Fax:
E-mail:  dshoff@state.pa.us

 

Return to Top

Puerto Rico

Geographic Names Authority

Puerto Rico Federal Affairs Administration
Office of the Governor
1100 17th St., N.W., Suite 800
Washington, D.C. 20036
Telephone: (202) 778-0710
Fax: (202) 778-0721
E-mail:

Return to Top

Rhode Island

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Jared L. Rhodes II, Chief Statewide Planning Program
Rhode Island Department of Administration
One Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5872
Telephone: (401) 222-5772
Fax: (401) 277-2083
E-mail: jrhodes@admin.ri.gov

Return to Top

South Carolina

Geographic Names Authority

Dr. Tracy Power, Director
South Carolina Department of
Archives and History
8301 Parklane Road
Columbia, SC 29223-4905
Telephone: (803) 896-6182
Fax: (803) 896-6167
E-mail: power@scdah.state.sc.us

Mr. Donald E. McElveen
South Carolina Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 191
Columbia, SC 29202-0191
Telephone: (803) 737-1677
Fax: (808) 737-5033
E-mail: McElveenDE@dot.state.sc.us

Mr. Richard L. Abbot
South Carolina Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 191
Columbia, SC 29202-0191
Telephone: (803)737-3103
Fax: (803) 737-5033
E-mail: abbotrl@scdot.org

Mr. Alan-Jon W. Zupan
South Carolina Geodetic Survey
5 Geology Road
Columbia, SC 29202-4089
Telephone: (803) 896-7713
Fax: (803)896-7695
E-mail: Alan-Jon.Zupan@scgs.gov

Mr. Gary Merrill
U.S. Geological Survey
720 Gracern Rd.
Columbia, SC 29210-7651
Telephone: (803 750-6124
Fax: (803)750-6181
E-mail: glmerrill@usgs.gov

Return to Top

South Dakota

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Leroy "J.R." LaPlante, Secretary
Department of Tribal Affairs
Capitol Lake Plaza
711 East Wells, Suite 250
Pierre, SD 57501
Telephone: (605) 773-3415
Fax: (605) 773-6592
E-mail: JR.LaPlante@state.sd.us

Return to Top

Tennessee

Geographic Names Authority

Gregory H. March
Map/GIS Librarian
University of Tennessee
Map Services
G21A Hodges Library
Knoxville, TN 37996
Telephone: (865) 974-3878
Fax: (865) 974-3925
E-mail: gmarch@utk.edu

Return to Top

Texas

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Richard Wade
Geographic Names Coordinator
Texas Natural Resources Information system
P.O. Box 13231
Austin, TX 78711-3231
Telephone: (512) 463-4010
Fax:
E-mail: Richard.Wade@twdb.state.tx.us


Ms. Claire DeVaughan
U.S. Geological Survey
8027 Exchange Drive
Austin, TX 78754-4733
Telephone: (512) 927-3583
Fax: (512) 927-3590
E-mail: cdevaugh@usgs.gov

Return to Top

Utah

Utah State Committee on
Geographic Names

Mr. Arie Leeflang, Secretary
Utah State Committee on Geographic Names
Division of State History
300 Rio Grande
Salt Lake City, Utah 84101
Telephone: (801) 533-3528
Fax: (801) 533-3504
E-mail: aleeflang@utah.gov

Mr. Dan White, Cartographer, R4 R0
U.S. Forest Service
324 25th St.
Ogden, UT 84401
Telephone: (801) 625-5183
E-mail: dwhite02@fs.fed.us

Return to Top

Vermont

Geographic Names Authority

Ms. Martha Reid, State Librarian
Department of Libraries
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609-0601
Telephone: (802) 828-3265
Fax: (802) 828-2199
E-mail: martha.reid@state.vt.us

Return to Top

Virginia

Geographic Names Authority

Ms. Sandra Gioia Treadway
Librarian of Virginia/State Archivist
Library of Virginia
800 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Telephone: (804) 692-3535
Fax: (804) 692-3603
E-mail: sandra.treadway@lva.virginia.gov

Return to Top

Washington

Washington State Board
on Geographic Names

The Washington State Board on Geographic Names has been reinstated by State Legislation.  Board members are being determined.  For information contact Caleb Maki, Washington Department of Natural Resources.

E-mail: caleb.maki@wadnr.gov

Return to Top

West Virginia

Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Paul Liston
West Virginia Geological & Economic Survey
1 Mont Chateau Road
Morgantown, WV 26508
Telephone: (304) 594-2331
Fax: (304) 594-2575
E-mail:
liston@geosrv.wvnet.edu

Return to Top

Wisconsin

Wisconsin State
Geographic Names Council

Ms. Kathryn Fitzgerald
Wisconsin State Geographic Names Council
Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707
Telephone: (608) 267-2764Fax: (608) 267-2750
E-mail: Kathryn.Fitzgerald@dnr.state.wi.us

Return to Top

Wyoming

Wyoming Board of Geographic Names

Mr. Patrick T. Tyrrell
Wyoming State Engineer's Office
Attention: Mr. Jason Feltner, Executive Director
Wyoming Board of Geographic Names
Herschler Building, 4-E
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Telephone: (307) 777-8789
Fax: (307) 777-5451
E-mail:
ptyrre@seo.wyo.gov
or        jfeltn@seo.wyo.gov

Return to Top

U.S. Board on Geographic Names
Mr. Louis Yost, Executive Secretary
U.S. Board on Geographic Names
U.S. Geological Survey
523 National Center
Reston, VA 20192-0523
Telephone: (703) 648-4552
Fax: (703) 648-4549
E-mail: lyost@usgs.gov

Return to Top

Geographical Names Board of Canada
 

Senior Advisor-Toponymy
Natural Resources Canada
615 Booth Street
Canada  K1A 0E9
Telephone: (613) 992-4100
Fax : (613) 995-2000
E-mail:
 

Return to Top


Home | Boards & Authorities | Conferences | Documents & Newsletters

For problems or questions regarding this web site contact the webmaster
Copyright 2003 [COGNA]. All rights reserved. Last updated: 02/07/12.