Council of Geographic Names Authorities
in the United States
COGNA_Logo_map.jpg

     This page contains links to a representative for each of the recognized state geographic names authorities in the United States, including two U.S. Territories.  These boards, committees, and advisers cooperate with the U.S. Board on Geographic Names in the national standardization process.  In states with no official board or committee an adviser has agreed to provide expertise and information about names in their state to assist in the standardization process.  In addition, there are links to the U.S. Board on Geographic Names, the Geographical Names Board of Canada, and to the American Name Society.

     Many states have official geographic names boards while other states have only an expert adviser assigned or voluntarily reviewing name proposals for their states.  One mission of COGNA is to encourage all state governments to take an active role in the geographic name decision process by maintaining their own name authorities who, in turn, recommend names to the federal board using official naming and policies.  In addition, COGNA encourages use of the official names in GNIS at all levels of government and the public.  COGNA recommends that State names authorities promote throughout state government and the citizenry an awareness of the importance of and procedures for geographic name standardization.



Alabama Geographic Names Authority

Dr. Sandy Ebersole, Chairman
Geological Survey of Alabama
Geographic Names Committee
420 Hackberry Lane
P.O. Box 869999
Tuscaloosa, AL 35486-2852
Telephone: (205) 247-3613
Fax: (205) 349-2861
E-mail: sebersole@gsa.al.us



Ms. Judith Bittner
Alaska Department of Natural Resources
Division of Parks Office of History & Archaeology

Attn: Ms. Joan (Jo) M. Antonson
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1310
Anchorage, AK 99501-3565
Telephone: (907) 269-8714
Fax: (907 269-8908
E-mail:  oha@alaska.net
E-mail:  jo.antonson@alaska.gov
 

Arizona State Board on Geographic
 & Historic Names

Mr. Ryan Ehrfurth
Digital Content Coordinator
1901 W. Madison ST.
Phoenix, AZ 85009
Telephone: (602) 926-3367
Fax:
E-mail:  rehrfurth@azlibrary.gov

Arkansas Geographic Names Authority

Ms. Bekki White, Director & State Geologist
Arkansas Geological Commission
Vardelle Parham Geology Center
3815 West Roosevelt Road
Little Rock, AR 72204
Telephone: (501) 296-1880
Fax: (501) 663-7360
E-mail:  bekki.white@arkansas.gov


The purpose of the California Advisory Committee on Geographic Names is to provide recommendations to the U.S. Board on Geographic Names

Ms. Tiffany Meyer, Chairperson
Department of Forestry and Fire Protection
1300 U Street
P.O.Box 944246
Sacramento, CA 94244-2460
Telephone: (916) 445-5397
Fax: (916) 324-1180
Email:  tiffany.meyer@fire.ca.gov
 

Colorado Board on Geographic Names

Vacant



 Connecticut Geographic Names Authority

Ms. Margaret A. Thomas, State Geologist
Connecticut Geological Survey
Office of Information Management
Dept. of Environmental Protection
79 Elm Street
Hartford, CT 06106
Telephone: (860) 424-3583
Fax: (860) 424-4058
E-mail:  Margaret.Thomas@ct.gov


Delaware Geographic Names Authority

Mr. William S. Schenck
Delaware Geological Survey
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716-7501
Telephone: (302) 831-8262
Fax: (302) 831-3579
E-mail:  rockman@udel.edu
 
Florida State Board on Geographic Names

The main purpose of the Florida State Board on Geographic Names  is to assist the U.S. Board on Geographic Names and offer advice to citizens and governmental entities on name related issues.

Mr. Stephen Hodge, Director
Technical Assistance Program
Florida Resources & Environmental Analysis Center
(FREAC)
Florida State Univerity
C2200 University Center
Tallahasssee, FL 32306
Telephone: (850) 644-2882
E-mail: shodge@fsu.udu

Georgia Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Steven W. Engerrand, Assistant Director
Archival Section, Georgia Archives
Telephone: (678) 364-3756
Fax: (678) 364-3860
E-mail:  sengerrand@sos.ga.gov

Guam Geographic Names Authority

Office of the Honorable Madeleine Z. Bordallo
424 Cannon HOB
Washington, D.C. 20515-5301
Telephone: (202) 225-1188
Fax: (202 226-0341
E
mail: 


Mr. Jesse K. Souki
, Director, Office of Planning
Department of Business, Economic Development, and Tourism

Attn: Authur J. Buto
GIS Program Manager
Hawaii Statewide GIS Program
State of Hawaii, Office of Planning
235 S. Beretania Street, 6th Floor
Honolulu, HI 96813
Telephone / fax: (808) 587-2894
E-mail:  arthur.j.buto@hawaii.gov
 
Idaho Geographic Names Advisory Council

Mr. Ethan Morton

Idaho State Historic Preservation Office
210 Main Street
Boise, ID 83702
Telephone: (208) 334-3861 x107
Fax:

E-mail:  ethan.morton@ishs.idaho.gov
Illinois Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Robert A. Sinclair
Sinclair and Associates
312 South Fair Street
Champaign, IL 61821
Telephone: (217) 356-9285
Fax:
E-mail:  rsinclai@uiuc.edu

Dr. David L. Gross
Senior Geologist & Ass't. Chief
Illinois State Geological Survey
Natural Resources Building
615 E. Peabody Dr.
Champaign, IL 61820
Telephone: (217) 333-0150
Fax: (217) 244-7004
E-mail:  gross@isgs.uiuc.edu

Dr. Edward Callary
Northern Illinois University, Emeritus
3004 Whiteway Dr.
Austin, TX 78757
Telephone: 512-540-4451
E-mail: onomast1@gmail.com
Indiana Geographic Names

Jim Sparks
Indiana Geographic Information Officer
Indiana Office of Technology
100 North Senate Ave.
N551 Government Central North
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Telephone:  (317) 232-5889
Cell phone:  (317)517-1879
E-mail:  gio@iot.in.gov

 
Iowa Geographic Names Authority

Tesfay Russell
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
502 E. 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
Telephone: (515) 725-8377
Fax:
E-mail:  tesfay.russell@dnr.iowa.gov



Kansas Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Ivan Weichert
Kansas Geographic Names Authority
1932 SW Collins AVE
Topeka, KS 66604-3223
Telephone:
Fax:
E-mail: ivan.weichert@gmail.com 


Kentucky Geographic Names Committee

Scott Dobler, GISP
Geography & GIS Instructor
KGA Coordinator
Mesonet Manager
Kentucky Geographic Names Committee Chair
Department of Geography and Geology
Western Kentucky University
Western Kentucky University © 2016
1906 College Heights Blvd.
Bowling Green, KY 42101
Telephone:  (270) 745-4555
E-mail:  scott.dobler@wku.edu

Louisiana Geographic Names Authority

Jim Mitchell
Email:  Jim.Mitchell@la.gov



Maine Geographic Names Authority

Anji Auger
E-mail:  anji@maine.gov
 
Maryland Geographic Names Authority

Ms. Jennifer Chadwick-Moore
Historic Preservation Information Systems Specialist
Maryland Historic Trust
100 Community Place, 3rd Floor
Crownsville, MD  21032-2023
Telephone: (410) 697-9539
E-mail: jen.chadwick-moore@maryland.gov
 
Massachusetts Geographic Names Authority

Dr. Stephen Mabee, State Geologist
Massachusetts Geological Survey
Department of Geosciences
269 Morrill Science Center
University of Massachusetts
611 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01003-9297
E-mail:  sbmabee@geo.umass.edu
Michigan Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Daniel Metzger, Geographic Specialist
Michigan Information Center
George Romney Building
111 South Capitol, 10th Floor
P.O. Box 30026
Lansing, MI 48909
Telephone: (517) 373-7910
Fax: (517) 373-2939
E-mail:  metzgerd@michigan.gov
Minnesota Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Kent Lokkesmoe, 
Director
Division of Waters
Telephone: (651) 259-5700
Minnesota Department of Natural Resource

Attn: Mr. Peter Boulay
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4032
Telephone: (651) 296-4214
Fax: (612) 225-2208
E-mail:  pboulay@umn.edu
 
Mississippi Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Michael B. E. Bograd, RPG
State Geologist & Director
Office of Geology
Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 2279
Jackson, MS 39225
Telephone: (601) 961-5528
Fax: (601) 961-5521

E-mail:  Michael_Bograd@deq.state.ms.us



Mr. John Dougan, Chairman Designee
Missouri State Archives
Telephone: (573) 751-4236
Fax:
E-mail:  john.dougan@sos.mo.gov

Diane Papineau, GIS Analyst

Montana State Libary
P.O. Box 201800
Helena, MT 59620-1800
Telephone: (406) 444-4731
Fax: (406) 444-0581
E-mail:  dpapineau@mt.gov
 Nebraska Geographic Names Authority

Trevor Jones, Director and SHPO
Nebraska State Historical Society
1500 R Street, P.O. Box 82554
Lincoln, NE 68501-2554
Telephone: (402) 471-4745
Fax: (402) 471-3100
E-mail: trevor.jones@nebraska.gov
  In March of 1985, Senate Bill 265, amended Chapter 327 of Nevada Revised Statutes and created a Board to "coordinate and approve geographic names within the State for official recommendation to the U.S. Board on Geographic Names."

Skip Canfield, Chairman
Nevada Division of State Lands
Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
901 South Stewart Street
Carson City, NV 89701
Telephone:  (775) 684-2723
Fax:
E-mail:  scanfield@lands.nv.gov

Dr. Christine Johnson, Executive Secretary
Nevada Historical Society
1650 North Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89503
Telephone:  (775) 688-1191 x 231
Fax: 
E-mail:  ckjohnson@nevadaculture.org
 
New Hampshire Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Ken Gallager
New Hampshire Office of Energy & Planning
4 Chenell Drive
Concord, NH 03301
Telephone: (603) 271-2155
Fax: (603) 271-1728
E-mail:  ken.gallager@nh.gov
New Jersey Geographic Names Authority

Mr. William P. Graff
Supervising Topographic Engineer
New Jersey Geological Survey
P.O. Box 427
Trenton, NJ 08625
Telephone: (609) 292-2576
Fax: (609) 633-1004
E-mail:  Bill.Graff@dep.state.nj.us
New Mexico Geographic Names Subcommittee

Zachary L. Stauber
GIS Coordinator
Enterprise GIS Section
Office of Information Technology
New Mexico Environment Department
PO Box 5469
Santa Fe, NM 87502-5469
Mobile: 505-795-4181
Main: 800-219-6157
Fax: 505-827-2765
E-mail:  zachary.stauber@state.nm.us
New York State Committee
 on Geographic Names

Mr. Brad L. Utter, Senior Historian/Curator
New York State Committee on Geographic Names
New York State Museum
3021 Cultural Education Center
Albany, New York 12230
Telephone: (518) 473-0028
Fax: (518) 486-2149
E
mail:  Brad.Utter@nysed.gov
 
North Carolina Geographic Names Authority

Dr. Tyrel Moore
Department of Geography & Earth Science
UNC Charlotte
9201 University City Blvd., McEniry Bldg.
Charlotte, NC 28223-0001
Telephone: (704) 687-5975
Fax:
E-mail:  tgmoore@uncc.edu

North Dakota Geographic Names Authority

Claudia J. Berg, Director
State Historical Society of North Dakota
612 East Boulevard
 Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505
Telephone: (701) 328-2666
Fax:
E-mail:  cberg@nd.gov
 
Ohio Geographic Names Authority

Mr. David Blackstone, GIS Manager
Office of Technical Services
Ohio Department of Transportation
1980 West Broad Street
Columbus, OH 43223
Telephone: (614) 466-2594
Fax:
E-mail:  Dave.Blackstone@dot.state.oh.us
Oklahoma Board on Geographic Names

Created by Oklahoma statutes in 1965 the purpose of the Oklahoma Board on Geographic Names is to make recommendations to the U.S. Board on Geographic Names [HB 810, sec. 310 (b), (4)].

Mr. T. Wayne Furr, Executive Secretary
Oklahoma  Board on Geographic Names
Oklahoma Geological Survey
The University of Oklahoma
2020 Industrial Blvd.
Norman, OK 73069
Telephone: (405) 325-1299 (leave message)
Fax: (405) 366-2882 Office
E-mail:  twfurr@cogna50usa.org


The purpose of the Oregon Geographic Names Board is to supervise the naming of geographic features within the state of Oregon and to make recommendations to the U.S. Board on Geographic Names.

Mr. Kerry Tymchuk, Secretary
Oregon Geographic Names Board
Oregon Historical Society
1200 S.W. Park Avenue
Portland, OR 97205-2483
Telephone: (503) 306-5239
Fax: (503) 221-2035
E-mail:  kerry.tymchuk@ohs.org

Mr. Philip A. Cogswell, President
Oregon Geographic Names Board
3537 Homestead Road
Salem, OR 97302
Telephone:  (503) 910-5571
Fax:
E-mail:  kpcogs@comcast.net

Mr. Bruce Fisher, Vice-President & Interim Committee Chair
Oregon Geographic Names Board
5062 SE Alii Court
MillWaukie, OR 97267-1709
Telephone:  (503) 653-5359
E-mail:  bruce.j.fisher@gmail.com
Pennsylvania Geographic Names Authority

Karen Galle
E-mail: kgalle@pa.gov
Puerto Rico Geographic Names Authority

Puerto Rico Federal Affairs Administration
Office of the Governor
1100 17th St., N.W., Suite 800

Washington, D.C. 20036
Telephone: (202) 778-0710
Fax: (202) 778-0721

E-mail:

Rhode Island Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Jared L. Rhodes II, Chief
Statewide Planning Program
Rhode Island Department of Administration
One Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5872
Telephone: (401) 222-5772
Fax: (401) 277-2083
E-mail:  jrhodes@admin.ri.gov
South Carolina Geographic Names Authority

Dr. Ehren Foley
State Historic Preservation Office
South Carolina Department of Archives & History
8301 Parklane Road
Columbia, SC 29223-4905
Telephone: (803) 896-6182

Fax: (803) 896-6167
E-mail: efoley@scdah.state.sc.us
South Dakota Geographic Names Authority

Ms. June D. Hansen, Chair
SD Board on Geographic Names
700 East Broadway
Pierre, SD 57501
Telephone: (605) 773-3540

Fax: (605) 773-4442 or (605) 773-3921
E-mail:  june.hansen@state.sd.us
Gregory H. March
Map/GIS Librarian
University of Tennessee
Map Services G21A Hodges Library
Knoxville, TN 37996
Telephone: (865) 974-3878
Fax: (865) 974-3925
E-mail:  gmarch@utk.edu
Mr. Richard Wade
Geographic Names Coordinator
Texas Natural Resources Information System
P.O. Box 13231
Austin, TX 78711-3231
Telephone: (512) 463-4010
Fax: 
E-mail:  Richard.Wade@twdb.texas.gov
Utah Committee on Geographic Names

Mr. Arie Leeflang, Secretary
Utah State Committee on Geographic Names
Division of State History
300 Rio Grande
Salt Lake City, Utah 84101

Telephone: (801) 533-3528
Fax: (801) 533-3504
E-mail:  aleeflang@utah.gov

Mr. Dan White, Cartographer
R4 R0 U.S. Forest Service
324 25th St.
Ogden, UT 84401
Telephone: (801) 625-5183

E-mail:  dwhite02@fs.fed.us
Vermont Geographic Names Authority
Vacant


Virginia Geographic Names Authority

Sandra Treadway
Librarian of Virginia/State Archivist
Library of Virginia
800 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Telephone: (804) 692-3535
Fax: (804) 692-3603

E-mail:  sandra.treadway@lva.virginia.gov
Washington State Board
 on Geographic Names

Mr. Caleb A. Maki, Executive Secretary
Washington State Board on Geographic Names
Department of Natural Resources
1111 Washington Street SE
P.O. Box 47030
Olympia, WA 98504-7030
Telephone: (360) 902-1280
Fax: (360) 902-1778
E-mail:  caleb.maki@wadnr.gov

West Virginia Geographic Names Authority

Mr. Paul Liston
West Virginia Geological & Economic Survey
1 Mont Chateau Road
Morgantown, WV 26508
Telephone: (304) 594-2331
Fax: (304) 594-2575
E-mail:  liston@geosrv.wvnet.edu
Mr. David Winston
Wisconsin State Geographic Names Council
E-mail:  David.Winston@Wisconsin.gov
 Wyoming Board of Geographic Names

Ms. Tabetha Wolf, Executive Director
Wyoming Board of Geographic Names
Herschler Building, 1-W
125 W 25th St
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Telephone: (307) 777-5801
Fax:
E-mail:  tabetha.wolf1@wyo.gov
   

STATE AUTHORITIES